Canadian Region Champions in the 1960s

Though the Canadian Region was formed in 1958, it did not encompass leagues from Western Canada until 1965. Prior to that point, the champions of Ontario and Eastern Canada (Quebec and the Maritime Provinces) squared off for the Canadian Region title and the accompanying World Series berth. Western Canada leagues competed as part of the U.S.'s West and North Regions.

The Stoney Creek Optimist LL became the first nationwide Canadian champion when they defeated Trail (BC) to win the 1965 Canadian Region title. The win gave Stoney Creek its second World Series berth, and Stoney Creek's second place finish in the World Series that year remains the best-ever showing by a Canadian league.

Valleyfield also claimed multiple region titles in the 1960s, as their three titles gave the perennial Quebec powerhouse five titles since the region was formed in 1958.

Select a year to see details from that year's region tournament.

Canadian Region Champions of the 1960s

1969 - Valleyfield LL (Valleyfield, QC)
1968 - Sher-Lenn LL (Sherbrooke, QC)
1967 - Trail LL (Trail, BC)
1966 - Windsor Central LL (Windsor, ON)
1965 - Stoney Creek Optimist LL (Stoney Creek, ON)
1964 - Valleyfield LL (Valleyfield, QC)
1963 - Valleyfield LL (Valleyfield, QC)
1962 - Stoney Creek Optimist LL (Stoney Creek, ON)
1961 - Kiwanis East LL (Montreal, QC)
1960 - Parkdale Lions LL (Toronto, ON)

NOTE: The Parkdale Lions LL in Toronto later changed its name to High Park LL.

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/17/2002