Connecticut State Champions in the 1980s

Trumbull National completed an improbable run by following its victory in the 1989 Connecticut Division 1 tournament with a 5-2 victory over the Kang Tu Little League of Kao Hsuing, Taiwan in the championship game of the Little League World Series. Trumbull pitcher Chris Drury later won the Hobie Baker award as the top collegiate hockey player in the country, and currently plays for the Colorado Avalanche in the National Hockey League.

Three other Connecticut leagues reached the World Series in the early 1980s. Stamford Federal (1981), Stamford American (1983), and McCabe-Waters (1984) all won Eastern Region tournament titles. Stamford American's run to the World Series was particularly dramatic. After losing their opening round game against Stamford Lione in the District 1 tournament, the Americans won seventeen consecutive must-win games before falling to eventual World Series champions East Marietta National (Marietta, Georgia) in the United States championship game. Stamford defeated eight opponents to emerge from the loser's bracket of the District 1 tournament, then swept four games each in the single-elimination state and Eastern Region tournaments.

Stamford Federal became only the third back-to-back winner in Connecticut by winning the 1981 and 1982 titles. East Hartford National also won back-to-back Division 2 titles in 1988 and 1989.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1980s

1989 - Trumbull National and East Hartford National
1988 - New Haven Pop Smith and East Hartford National
1987 - Stamford Springdale and Mystic
1986 - Berlin
1985 - New London National
1984 - Bristol McCabe-Waters
1983 - Stamford American
1982 - Stamford Federal
1981 - Stamford Federal
1980 - New Haven Pop Smith

NOTE: Connecticut held two Divisional Tournaments from 1987 through 1992. Both champions advanced to the Eastern Region Tournament.

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/18/2002