Connecticut State Champions in the 1990s

Only one district won multiple Connecticut state titles after state officials re-established a tournament format that produced a single state champion in 1993. District 5's Southington Northern (1993 and 1996) and Ed Walsh (1997) Little Leagues represented the local district at the Eastern Region Tournament in Bristol.

North Branford, Ed Walsh, Stamford National-Lione, Groton City, Park City American, and East Hartford Eastern all won state or divisional titles after failing to advance beyond district play for over a decade. Ed Walsh (1970) and Groton City (1968) ended the longest district title droughts among the upstart winners.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1990s

1999 - North Branford
1998 - Simsbury National
1997 - Meriden Ed Walsh
1996 - Southington Northern
1995 - Shelton National
1994 - Trumbull National
1993 - Southington Northern
1992 - Stamford National-Lione and Groton City
1991 - Park City American (Bridgeport) and East Hartford Eastern
1990 - Stamford Springdale and Enfield

NOTE: Connecticut held two Divisional Tournaments from 1987 through 1992. Both champions advanced to the Eastern Region Tournament.

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/18/2002