2002 Hawaii State Little League® Tournament Results

Hawaii State Tournament

Toward the past

Toward the present

Hawaii State Tournament
Host - Molokai (Kaunakakai) (District 3)
At Harrison Cooke Field

Participating Teams
District 1 Champions
District 3 Champions
District 4 Champions
District 6 Champions
District 7 Champions
District 8 Champions

Molokai (Kaunakakai)
Hilo National
Waipio (Waipahu)
Ewa (Ewa Beach)

Tournament Results:

Opening Round:
Hilo National 1, Aiea 0
Kainalu 3, Ewa 1

Winner's Bracket Semifinals:
Waipio 6, Kainalu 0
Hilo National 19, Molokai 4

Loser's Bracket Quarterfinals (six teams remain):
Aiea 4, Ewa 3 (elim.)
Kainalu 15, Molokai 1 (elim.)

Winner's Bracket Finals:
Waipio 6, Hilo National 2

Loser's Bracket Semifinals (four teams remain):
Aiea 7, Kainalu 3 (elim.)

Loser's Bracket Finals (three teams remain):
Hilo National 3, Aiea 2 (elim.)

Championship Game:
Waipio 3, Hilo National 1 (TITLE)


Kurt Tanabe threw a five-hitter to lead Waipio to a 3-1 victory over Hilo National in the championship game of the Hawaii State Tournament at Harrison Cooke field on Molokai.

Tanabe, who threw two complete games in the state tournament, combined with left-hander Cory Yuh to allow only three runs in Waipio's three state tournament victories. The tourney was held on Molokai for the first time, and on an island other than Oahu for just the sixth time.

Hilo National outhit Waipio 5-4 in the championship game, but Waipio bunched together all of their hits in a three-run third inning rally that erased a 1-0 Hilo lead. Tanabe, who struck out nine and walked two, then shut out the Big Island team over the final three innings to clinch Waipio's first state championship since 1998.

Waipio received a bye in the opening round of the six-team tournament before downing Kainalu 6-0. Tanabe threw a one-hitter and struck out ten, while Sanoe Aina paced Waipio's offense with a home run and three RBIs. Kyle Kobayashi was 3-for-3, while Travis Jones added a pair of hits as Waipio moved into the winner's bracket finals.

Hilo National also advanced, edging Aiea 1-0 in the tournament's opening game before blasting Molokai 19-4. Jensen Sato hurled a three-hitter and struck out twelve against Aiea, and Richard Chinen's fourth inning single to left field drove in pinch runner Tyrus Okinishi with the game's only run.

Hilo then used the long ball to overwhelm Molokai. Tyson Goo drove a two-run homer in the first, and Kiley Kawazoe added a solo shot in the third and a two-run blast in the fifth. Hilo then broke the game open with a thirteen run rally in the top of the sixth inning. Kawazoe went 5-for-5 with five runs scored and four RBIs in the game.

Hilo jumped to an early lead in the winner's bracket finals against Waipio, but the Oahu team rebounded for a 6-2 win. Kevin Sagawa's solo home run in the bottom of the fourth gave Hilo a 1-0 lead, and the District 4 champions extended their advantage later in the inning on a single, walk, and error. But Waipio scored four unearned runs after two batters were retired in the top of the fifth, and added two more in the sixth to claim a 6-2 win. Yuh scattered eight hits for the winners, and struck out nine batters in a complete game effort.

Hilo earned a rematch with Waipio by rallying late to defeat Aiea 3-2 in the loser's bracket finals. Aiea carried a 2-0 lead into the top of the sixth inning, but Hilo loaded the bases on singles by Goo and Sato and a walk to Kawazoe. Goo scored when Kevin Sagawa reached on an error, and Chinen then drove a single to left field to score Jensen and Kawazoe with the tying and winning runs.

Waipio's victory at the state tournament propelled the Waipahu-based team into the Northwest Region tournament in San Bernardino, California. Waipio split their four pool games, then upset Mill Creek Little League (Washington) 5-3 in the semifinals and defeated Coeur d'Alene (Idaho) 5-2 in the championship game to advance to the Little League World Series. Waipio became Hawaii's first World Series qualifier since District 7 counterpart Pearl City won the U.S. championship in 1988.

Follow Waipio at the Northwest Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.


  Winner's Bracket Finals 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
Waipio 0 0 0 0 4 2 6 - -
Hilo National 0 0 2 0 0 0 2 - -
  Championship Game
Hilo National 0 0 1 0 0 0 1 5 -
Waipio 0 0 3 0 0 x 3 4 -

Toward the past

Toward the present
The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2003, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/01/2003