Hawaii State Champions in the 1960s

At the 1959 Hawaiian championship tournament, ten leagues competed in a single tournament that determined the U.S. territory's champion. By contrast, following a decade of rapid expansion, the 1969 Hawaiian state tournament brought together champions from eight districts. Along the way, leagues from Maui, the Big Island, and Oahu (where six of the districts were based) claimed state titles.

Pearl Harbor advanced to the World Series by winning the Hawaiian state title in 1960, while Hilo American defeated a team from Misawa, Japan to earn the Pacific title and corresponding World Series berth in 1961.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1960s

1969 - Waipahu
1968 - Pearl City
1967 - Wahiawa American
1966 - Waialua
1965 - Kainalu
1964 - Waialua
1963 - East Maui (Kahului)
1962 - Kailua National
1961 - Hilo American
1960 - Pearl Harbor

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/23/2002