Hawaii State Champions in the 1980s

Pearl City's 1988 state champions qualified for the Little League World Series, and became the only Hawaiian league ever to win the U.S. championship. Four players on Pearl City's roster achieved a rare distinction before their Little League careers were over -- they played in the Little League, Junior League, Senior League, and Big League World Series tournaments.

Leagues from other islands also returned to prominence in the 1980s. Molokai won that island's first state title in 1984, and West Maui became the first winner from Maui since 1963. The Waiakea Lions were the first Big Island-based Hawaiian champion in a decade.

Aiea National qualified for every state tournament over the course of the 1980s.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1980s

1989 - Pearl City
1988 - Pearl City
1987 - Waiakea Lions
1986 - West Maui (Lahaina)
1985 - East Maui (Kahului)
1984 - Molokai (Kaunakakai)
1983 - West Maui (Lahaina)
1982 - Kaneohe National
1981 - Wahiawa
1980 - Aiea National

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/23/2002