1957 Illinois State Little League® Tournament Results

Illinois State Tournament


Toward the present

Illinois State Tournament
Host - Ottawa
At Library Park

Participating Teams:
Section 1 Champions
Section 2 Champions
Section 3 Champions
Section 4 Champions
Rock Island American (District 5)
Lyons-McCook (District 9)
Kankakee Jaycees (District 4)
Chicago White Cap American (District 12)

Tournament Results:

Kankakee Jaycees 4, Chicago White Cap American 0
Lyons-McCook 10, Rock Island American 1

Championship Game:
Lyons-McCook 3, Kankakee Jaycees 2 (TITLE)


Lyons-McCook trailed the Kankakee contingent by a 2-1 score with two outs in the bottom of the sixth inning -- and L-M batter Tony Wachala had two strikes on him -- when Wachala slammed a game-ending two-run homer that gave Lyons-McCook the 3-2 win. Wachala was also the winning pitcher in the title game, as he scattered four hits and struck out five. Kankakee counterpart Tom Moriarity was also brilliant, striking out 13, walking only one, and allowing only four hits in a masterful performance that fell one pitch short against a heavily favored L-M squad.

Follow Lyons-McCook at the North Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.

Toward the present
The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/17/2002