1998 Illinois State Little League® Tournament Results

Illinois State Tournament

Toward the past

Toward the present

Illinois State Tournament
Host - Limestone
At Limestone Park

Limestone is located in Limestone Township in Kankakee County (District 18).

Participating Teams:
Section 1 Champions
Section 2 Champions
Section 3 Champions
Section 4 Champions
Section 5 Champions
Mount Carmel (District 1)
LaGrange (District 9)
Evergreen Park (District 7)
Crystal Lake National (District 13)
Ottawa American (District 20)

Tournament Results:

Opening Round:
Ottawa American 3, LaGrange 2

Winner's Bracket Semifinals:
Crystal Lake National 11, Mount Carmel 1 (4 innings)
Ottawa American 1, Evergreen Park 0

Loser's Bracket Quarterfinals (5 teams remain):
LaGrange 1, Mount Carmel 0 (elim.)

Loser's Bracket Semifinals (4 teams remain):
LaGrange 7, Evergreen Park 0 (elim.)

Winner's Bracket Finals:
Crystal Lake National 4, Ottawa American 3

Loser's Bracket Finals (3 teams remain):
LaGrange 3, Ottawa American 1 (elim.)

Championship Series:
LaGrange 5, Crystal Lake National 4
LaGrange 1, Crystal Lake National 0 (TITLE)


LaGrange rebounded from an opening round loss to Ottawa American to win five consecutive games and recapture the state title that the league won in the 9-10 year old division in 1996.

In the championship series against Crystal Lake National, LaGrange fell behind 4-0 in the second inning, and still trailed 4-3 when down to their last strike in the bottom of the sixth. With two outs and two strikes on the count, Jordan Baughman delivered a two-run double that scored Thomas Ulrich and Jeremy Dickinson and gave LaGrange a 5-4 victory that forced a second meeting.

Baughman moved to the mound for the second meeting with Crystal Lake, and earned his third pitching victory of the tourney with a two-hit, complete game shutout as LaGrange completed their comeback through the loser's bracket with a 1-0 victory.

LaGrange made a first inning run stand up in the 'if' meeting with Crystal Lake. Dickinson and Nick Moore opened the inning with singles, and moved to second and third on a passed ball. Dickinson then scored the game's only run on Tim LaBolt's grounder to first.

LaGrange had to defeat every other team in the tournament to claim the title following their opening round loss to Ottawa American. LaGrange outhit Ottawa 9-8 in the loss, and tallied at least one base hit in every inning, but Ottawa snapped a 2-2 tie by pushing across a run in the top of the fifth inning to send LaGrange to the loser's bracket.

The District 9 champions began their run through the loser's bracket with a 1-0 win over Mount Carmel. Baughman, who had thrown a perfect inning of relief against Ottawa, pitched a complete game against the club from Wabash County, and scored the game's only run when Mike Rehor followed his sixth inning double with a single.

LaBolt then chipped in with LaGrange's second consecutive shutout, firing a no-hitter and striking out nine as LaGrange eliminated Evergreen Park 7-0. Daniel Brewer paced the eight hit LaGrange attack with three hits (including a homer) and five RBIs.

In the rematch with Ottawa American, Baughman pitched five no-hit innings as his teammates built an early 3-0 lead en route to the 3-1 victory. Moore's third-inning single scored Ulrich for the first run, and Brewer scored the next run by singling and eventually scoring on an error in the fourth. In the fifth, Ryan Tlusty's pinch-hit single scored Rehor with the third LaGrange tally. Baughman settled for a two-hitter, as Ottawa plated a run in the sixth inning.

Only one other Illinois team (Jackie Robinson West in 1987) has won a state title following an opening round loss at the state tournament.

Follow LaGrange at the Central Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.


  First Championship Game 123456 RHE
Crystal Lake National 04000045-
LaGrange 0120025--
  Second Championship Game
LaGrange 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 6 -
Crystal Lake National 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 -

NOTE: The inning-by-inning scores for the second championship game are correct, but LaGrange may have been the home team in this game.

1998 Illinois District Champions and Sectional Tournament Results:

District Champions
in Section 1
District Champions
in Section 2
D1 - Mount Carmel
D2 - Tuscola
D3 - Taylorville Red Bland
D17 - Beardstown

Section 1 Tournament
Host - Robinson (District 1)
At City Park

Tournament Results:
1 - Mount Carmel d. Tuscola
2 - Beardstown d. Taylorville Red Bland
3 - Taylorville Red Bland d. Tuscola (elim.)
4 - Mount Carmel d. Beardstown
5 - Taylorville Red Bland d. Beardstown (elim.)
6 - Taylorville Red Bland d. Mount Carmel
7 - Mount Carmel d. Taylorville Red Bland (TITLE)

D9 - LaGrange
D11 - Naperville National
D15 - Chicago Westlawn
D18 - Bradley-Bourbonnais National

Section 2 Tournament
Host - Naperville American (District 11)
At Knoch Park

Tournament Results:
1 - LaGrange 7, Naperville National 1
2 - Chicago Westlawn 10, Bradley-Bourbonnais National 0
3 - Naperville National 8, Bradley-Bourbonnais National 0 (elim.)
4 - LaGrange 10, Chicago Westlawn 0
5 - Naperville National 6, Chicago Westlawn 4 (elim.)
6 - LaGrange 7, Naperville National 2 (TITLE)

District Champions
in Section 3
District Champions
in Section 4
D4 - Chicago Jackie Robinson West
D6 - Lansing East
D7 - Evergreen Park
D8 - Alsip

Section 3 Tournament
Host - South Holland (District 6)
At Gouwens Park

Tournament Results:
1 - Evergreen Park 7, Jackie Robinson West 2
2 - Alsip 12, Lansing East 2
3 - Lansing East 11, Jackie Robinson West 1 (elim.)
4 - Evergreen Park 5, Alsip 0
5 - Lansing East 5, Alsip 1 (elim.)
6 - Evergreen Park 9, Lansing East 1 (TITLE)

D10 - River Forest
D12 - Norridge
D13 - Crystal Lake National
D16 - Libertyville

Section 4 Tournament
Host - Streamwood (District 13)
At Dolphin Park

Tournament Results:
1 - Crystal Lake National 7, Norridge 2
2 - River Forest 2, Libertyville 0
3 - Norridge 7, Libertyville 5 (elim.)
4 - Crystal Lake National 10, River Forest 2
5 - Norridge d. River Forest (elim.)
6 - Crystal Lake National 7, Norridge 1 (TITLE)

District Champions
in Section 5
D5 - Rock Island Islander
D19 - Rochelle
D20 - Ottawa American

Section 5 Tournament
Host - Mendota (District 20)
At Strouss Park

Tournament Results:
1 - Ottawa American 8, Rock Island Islander 1
2 - Ottawa American 11, Rochelle 5
3 - Rock Island Islander 6, Rochelle 1 (elim.)
4 - Ottawa American 6, Rock Island Islander 5 (TITLE)

NOTE: District 14 was dissolved following the 1986 International Tournament and no longer exists in Illinois.

Toward the past

Toward the present
The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/17/2002