Illinois State Champions in the 1970s

Several of the more successful Illinois Little League programs captured state titles in the 1970s. The Kankakee Jaycees -- who previously had parlayed three state titles into World Series appearances (and made a fourth World Series appearance in 1950 before the state tournament structure was established) -- won their record fourth state tournament in 1971. Only Westlawn, which won its second state championship in 1972, has won as many titles.

A pair of three-time champions added to their totals in the 1970s. Elgin National added a pair of crowns to the title it won in 1959, while Joliet Belmont won its first title during the 25th anniversary of the league's charter in 1977.

Palatine South earned Illinois' only World Series berth in the decade when its 1978 squad defeated Detroit Southwestern (MI) to win the Central Region tournament.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1970s

1979 - Elgin National
1978 - Palatine South
1977 - Joliet Belmont
1976 - Markham Manor
1975 - Elgin National
1974 - Chicago Clear Ridge East
1973 - Harwood Heights
1972 - Chicago Westlawn
1971 - Kankakee Jaycees
1970 - Chicago Hyde Park

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/20/2002