1990 Massachusetts State Little League® Tournament Results

Massachusetts State Tournament

Toward the past

Toward the present

Massachusetts State Tournament
Host - Leominster
At Ronnie Bachand Field

Participating Teams:
Section 1 Champions
Section 2 Champions
Section 3 Champions
Section 4 Champions
Westfield South (District 2)
Barnstable (District 7)
Newton South
Stoneham (District 13)

Tournament Results:

Westfield South 2, Stoneham 1
Newton South 5, Barnstable 4

Championship Game:
Westfield South 6, Newton South 3 (TITLE)


After ace Casey Hildreth hurled a two-hitter in Westfield South's come-from-behind semifinal win over Stoneham, Westfield manager Bruce Hildreth turned to a pitching-by-commitee approach for the title game, and Westfield South became only the fourth team (and the first since Swampscott in 1978-79) to win back-to-back Massachusetts state titles. Kevin Pennington, Jason Purdy, and Ryan Wallace each pitched two innings, and the trio combined for a six-hit, eight-strikeout performance. Josh Smith's two-run double was the key blow in a four-run uprising that turned a 2-1 defecit into a 5-2 lead. Pennington and Purdy were the lone holdovers from Westfield South's 1989 state titlists.

Follow Westfield South at the East Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.

Toward the past

Toward the present
The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/18/2002