Massachusetts State Champions in the 1960s

Two different leagues from Newton and Danvers claimed state titles in the 1960s. Newton West's 2-1 title game victory over Weymouth Federal in 1960 prevented that city from winning its first ever title (Weymouth South ended the wait with a title in 1966), and Newton North followed with its first state crown since 1953 two years later.

Newton North reached the state final four again in 1965, but Danvers National eliminated Newton in an extra-inning semifinal round game before defeating Auburn American in the title game. Four years later, Danvers National won its first state title with a 2-1 nine inning victory over Pittsfield South.

Parkway National won its first state title in its third state tournament appearance in 1968.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1960s

1969 - Danvers American
1968 - Parkway National (West Roxbury)
1967 - Arlington West
1966 - Weymouth South
1965 - Danvers National
1964 - Westport
1963 - Peabody American
1962 - Newton North
1961 - Brockton North
1960 - Newton West

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/25/2002