Massachusetts State Champions in the 1970s

Pittsfield South and Swampscott both earned their first state titles in the 1970s, and neither league had to wait long for the second. Pittsfield won back-to-back titles in 1976 and 1977, while Swampscott's baby blue claimed top honors in 1978 and 1979. The leagues were the first repeat champions in Massachusetts since Winchester made consecutive World Series appearances in 1955 and 1956.

Arlington's leagues achieved an equally rare feat during the 1970s, as two different Arlington leagues won state titles in consecutive years. Arlington North defeated Brockton South to win the 1971 state title, and the next year Arlington West ousted Millbury to win its second ever state title.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1970s

1979 - Swampscott
1978 - Swampscott
1977 - Pittsfield South
1976 - Pittsfield South
1975 - Fall River American
1974 - Pittsfield West
1973 - Needham West
1972 - Arlington West
1971 - Arlington North
1970 - Parkway National (West Roxbury)

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/25/2002