2014 Montana State Little League® Tournament Results
Unpage Home | Montana Main Page

Montana State Tournament
Major Baseball Division

Toward the past

Toward the present

Montana State Tournament
Host - Mount Sentinel (Missoula) (District 2)
At Playfair Park; Dale Clawson Complex

Participating Teams
District 1 Champions Boulder Arrowhead (Billings)
District 2 Champions Mount Sentinel (Missoula)

Click here to view 2014 district tournament results for Montana.

Tournament Results:

Best 2-of-3 Series:
Mount Sentinel 1, Boulder Arrowhead 0
Boulder Arrowhead 5, Mount Sentinel 3
Boulder Arrowhead 9, Mount Sentinel 3 (TITLE)


A late rally helped to lift Boulder Arrowhead Little League to a record-setting state championship.

Boulder Arrowhead snapped a 1-1 tie with four runs in the top of the fifth inning, and added four more in the sixth to top Mount Sentinel Little League, 9-3, in the deciding game of the Montana state tournament at the Dale Clawson complex in Missoula.

The win, Boulder Arrowhead's second of the day after dropping the opening game in the best-of-three state championship series, advanced the Billings league to the Northwest Region tournament in San Bernardino, California. It also gave Boulder Arrowhead its tenth state championship overall in the major baseball division, snapping a tie with Mount Sentinel for the most state championships in Montana history.

Boulder Arrowhead's title was the league's fifth state championship in a seven-year span.

Boulder Arrowhead won the title, but Mount Sentinel made the District 1 champions work hard to claim it. Mount Sentinel won the opening game of the series, 1-0, was tied with Boulder Arrowhead in the fifth inning of Game 2 before falling 5-3, and was deadlocked with Billings in the deciding game through four innings.

Ben Egan sparked Boulder Arrowhead's decisive rally in Game 3 by grounding a single up the middle to open the fifth. After Eric Laughlin forced Egan, Cade Tyson drew a walk, and Josh Erbacher reached on an infield single that loaded the bases. Johnathan Nickoloff walked to force in a run, then Tyson scored on a passed ball and Michael Haynes delivered a two-run double that gave Boulder Arrowhead a four-run advantage.

Mount Sentinel narrowed the gap with two runs in the bottom of the fifth -- Rian McKinnon opened the inning with a solo home run -- but Boulder Arrowhead pulled away in the sixth. Michael Horrell led off the inning with a double to center field, and scored on Egan's double. Tyson walked again, and infield singles by Erbacher and Haynes drove in two more runs. Brad Hemby capped the inning with a sacrifice fly that scored Erbacher with the game's final run.

"All the credit in the world to them," said Mount Sentinel manager Mike Leary. "Boulder is going to represent our state very well in the next round."

Mount Sentinel won the series' first game thanks in part to stellar pitching from Jack Leary and Kaden Heidrick. Leary pitched into the fifth before exhausting his pitch count, striking out eight and scattering five hits. Heidrick registered the final five outs of the game while allowing no hits and a walk.

Hemby, the Boulder Arrowhead pitcher, threw a complete game, surrendered just four hits, and did not allow an earned run. Mount Sentinel's run came in the second, when Preston Jones beat out an infield hit and later scored on an error.

"We knew they had great pitching," said Leary of his team's opportunistic offense. "We just had to focus and find our bats early, and we did."

After being shut out in the first game, Boulder Arrowhead made sure its offense had more life in Game 2, as Egan lifted a solo home run on the second pitch of the first inning. Boulder Arrowhead later snapped a 3-3 tie by scoring two runs in the bottom of the fifth inning of a 5-3 victory.

Billings' decisive rally started after the first two batters of the inning were retired. Laughlin reached on an infield single, then wheeled around on Tyson's doubled to center field. Erbacher followed with a double of his own to provide Boulder Arrowhead with an insurance run.

Tyson allowed only three hits while earning the victory, and came within one out of a complete game. He struck out eight and did not allow an earned run.

Laughlin, Tyson, Erbacher, and Nickoloff all had two hits apiece to pace Boulder Arrowhead's nine hit attack in the game.

"They're a powerhouse," noted Missoula coach Ryan Jones of his team's championship series opponent. "I think in every single division of Little League, for baseball or softball, they've qualified for state."

Boulder Arrowhead claimed Montana's title in the 9-10 baseball, 10-11 baseball, major baseball, senior baseball, and major softball age divisions.

Boulder Arrowhead went 1-3 in pool competition at the Northwest Region tournament, with two of the losses coming in extra innings. In the semifinal round, Montana's champion fell, 11-3, to eventual region champion Lynnwood Pacific Little League (Lynnwood, Washington).

Follow Boulder Arrowhead at the Northwest Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.


  Game 1 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
Boulder Arrowhead 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 2
Mount Sentinel 0 1 0 0 0 x 1 4 0
  Game 2
Mount Sentinel 1 1 0 0 1 0 3 3 1
Boulder Arrowhead 1 0 2 0 2 x 5 9 0
  Game 3
Boulder Arrowhead 0 0 1 0 4 4 9 11 1
Mount Sentinel 0 1 0 0 2 0 3 9 0

Toward the past

Toward the present

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2015, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/12/2015