2015 Montana State Little League® Tournament Results
Unpage Home | Montana Main Page

Montana State Tournament
Major Baseball Division

Toward the past

Toward the present

Montana State Tournament
Host - Boulder Arrowhead (Billings) (District 1)
At Arrowhead Field

Participating Teams
District 1 Champions Boulder Arrowhead (Billings)
District 2 Champions Mount Sentinel (Missoula)

Click here to view 2015 district tournament results for Montana.

Tournament Results:

Best 2-of-3 Series:
Boulder Arrowhead 3, Mount Sentinel 0
Boulder Arrowhead 4, Mount Sentinel 1 (TITLE)


Rock solid pitching led Boulder Arrowhead Little League to a two-game sweep of Mount Sentinel Little League in the Montana state tournament in Billings.

Mount Sentinel managed just two hits -- one against Cade Westerlund in the series' first game and one against Cayden May in the second contest -- as Boulder Arrowhead recorded 3-0 and 4-1 victories to earn a second consecutive state championship in the major baseball division. Boulder Arrowhead had also defeated Mount Sentinel in the prior year's state championship series.

Westerlund struck out seven while throwing a complete game in the opener. He also played a role in all of the runs Boulder Arrowhead scored, driving in the first run and scoring the other two.

Westerlund's fourth inning triple drove in Zach Erbacher, who had led off the inning with a single. May then followed with a run-scoring single. In the sixth, Westerlund singled with one out, and scored when May delivered an RBI double.

Mount Sentinel's only hit was a two-out single by Daniel Jackson in the fifth inning.

The next day, May surrendered only a fifth inning single by Quinn Waltz as Boulder Arrowhead earned a 4-1 victory to close out the tournament. May struck out eight and walked two.

Boulder Arrowhead jumped to a lead in the bottom of the first inning, when Erbacher tripled on the second pitch he saw and then scored on Max Keller's groundout. In the third inning, Westerlund homered with two outs, and Boulder Arrowhead added a second run when May, Keeven Luhman, and Alex Good followed with consecutive singles.

Mount Sentinel scored its run in the fourth, when Henry Felker drew a leadoff walk and scored on an error following Zach Hangas' grounder. But Boulder Arrowhead got the run back when May produced an RBI single following a pair of two out errors in the bottom of the inning.

Boulder Arrowhead's state championship was the league's tenth overall in the major baseball division, and sixth in an eight-year span. Mount Sentinel has won nine Montana titles, and finished as the state runner up for the third consecutive year.

Follow Boulder Arrowhead at the Northwest Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.


  Game 1 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
Boulder Arrowhead 0 0 0 2 0 1 3 5 0
Mount Sentinel 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1
  Game 2
Mount Sentinel 0 0 0 1 0 0 1 1 2
Boulder Arrowhead 1 0 2 1 0 x 4 8 3

Toward the past

Toward the present

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2016, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/05/2016