Unpage Home | New Jersey Main Page

New Jersey State Tournament Milestones

The structure of Little League Baseball's international tournament in New Jersey has changed several times since the first state tournament was held in 1957. Key events in the evolution of this structure include the following:

1957The New Jersey state tournament is inaugurated as a four-team, single-elimination tournament. The state is organized into sixteen districts numbered 1 through 16 from north to south throughout the state. By the mid-1980s, New Jersey expanded to 19 districts in size.
1981District 3 is dissolved, and its remaining leagues are placed into District 4.
1985District 3 is re-formed in Cumberland and Salem Counties as a spin-off from District 15.
1986The state tournament switches to a double-elimination format.
1989District 20 (Sussex and Warren Counties) is formed as a spin-off from District 1.
1995District 21 is created in the Philadelphia area as a spin-off from District 14.
2001New Jersey is assigned to the Mid-Atlantic Region as part of Little League Baseball's expansion of the World Series from eight to sixteen participants.
2002The state tournament uses a round-robin format before again returning to a double-elimination format the following year.
2006District 9 (Essex and Union Counties) is dissolved. The remaining District 9 leagues are placed in adjoining districts, including Districts 1, 7, 8, 10, and 17.
2016District 17 (Somerset County) is dissolved. The remaining District 17 leagues are merged into District 10.

Click here to return to the New Jersey Little League Tournament Page Main Menu.

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2016, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 08/13/2016