Northern California Champions in the 1970s

A familiar face dominated Northern California in the 1970s, as Campbell claimed three state championships, three Western Region championships, and three runner-up finishes at the Little League World Series. The three titles is the second-most number of Northern California championships won by a single league.

Campbell's heroics didn't overshadow those of three other leagues. Concord National became the first league to win multiple titles when they claimed the 1973 championship (they also won in 1961), and San Ramon Valley won the first of its four titles when their 1978 squad won Northern California, Western Region, and U.S. championships. Red Bluff's 1974 club also finished as the World Series runner-up.

Select a year to see details from that year's Northern California tournament.

Northern California Champions of the 1970s

1979 - Campbell
1978 - San Ramon Valley (Danville)
1977 - Hanford National
1976 - Campbell
1975 - Northridge American
1974 - Red Bluff
1973 - Concord National*
1972 - San Bernardino Civic*
1971 - Cupertino American
1970 - Campbell

NOTE: California crowned a single state champion (instead of separate Northern and Southern California champions) in 1972 and 1973.

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/23/2002