Rhode Island State Champions in the 1990s

Three teams swept to multiple state titles in the 1990s, and a fouth (Lincoln) closed the decade by starting a run of three consecutive titles.

The first of Cranston Western's three consecutive state titlists was the most successful: the 1996 club became the first Rhode Island World Series qualifier since Pawtucket Darlington American in 1980 when it qualified for the 50th World Series. Despite a pair of losses in pool competition, Cranston Western emerged as the U.S. champion in 1996.

East Greenwich and Darlington American also won consecutive state titles in the 1990s. With their titles this decade, Cranston Western and Darlington American joined Middletown as the only Rhode Island leagues to win four state titles.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1990s

1999 - Lincoln
1998 - Cranston Western
1997 - Cranston Western
1996 - Cranston Western
1995 - East Greenwich
1994 - East Greenwich
1993 - Darlington American (Pawtucket)
1992 - Darlington American (Pawtucket)
1991 - Warwick Continental
1990 - Mount Pleasant

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/18/2002