Southern California Champions in the 1980s

Irvine's Northwood Little League became the first California league -- Northern or Southern -- to win consecutive divisional titles. The 1987 team captured a U.S. title before losing in the Little League World Series championship game.

Mexicali's 1985 squad also produced a first -- a California champion that wasn't from California. Leagues that straddle LL borders often compete in districts that are more geographically accessible (California's South Lake Tahoe LL, for example, competes in Nevada District 1). In its third trip to the Southern California Divisional Tournament, Mexicali rolled to the title, and also won Western Region and U.S. crowns.

Escondido National and San Pedro Eastview also won Western Region titles during the 1980s.

Select a year to see details from that year's Southern California tournament.

Southern California Champions of the 1980s

1989 - Eastview (San Pedro)
1988 - Northwood (Irvine)
1987 - Northwood (Irvine)
1986 - La Puente
1985 - Mexicali (Mexico)
1984 - Culver City
1983 - Cerritos Frontier
1982 - South Bay (Chula Vista)
1981 - Escondido National
1980 - Sunshine (San Diego)

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2003, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 05/10/2003