Southern Region Champions in the 1950s

In early July of 1957, a Little League team from Monterrey, Mexico crossed the U.S. border to compete in an area tournament in McAllen, Texas. The team was issued three day passes by the U.S. consul office in Monterrey; the plan was to play for one day and sightsee for two more.

Two months later, the team returned to Monterrey. Their money had run out after three days, and phone calls to Washington were needed to allow the team to extend its stay in the U.S. until it was eliminated. It never was. Led by ambidextrous pitcher Angel Macias, the legendary Monterrey team won six tournaments, including the South Region Tournament and the Little League World Series. The next year, future Chicago Cub and San Diego Padre Hector Torres pitched Monterrey to its second consecutive World Series title.

While Monterrey earned a second consecutive World Series berth by winning the new Latin American Region Tournament in 1958, Alabama's Gadsden National took over as the new power in the South by winning the South Region Tournament in 1958 and 1959.

Select a year to see details from that year's region tournament.

Southern Region Champions of the 1950s

1959 - Gadsden National LL (Gadsden, AL)
1958 - Gadsden National LL (Gadsden, AL)
1957 - Industrial LL (Monterrey, Mexico)

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2003, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/03/2003