Western Region Champions in the 1970s

The 1970s ended the same way that they began -- with a team from Campbell, California triumphing in the Western Region Tournament. Campbell claimed Western Region honors in 1970, 1976, and 1979, and each time reached the Little League World Series championship game before falling.

Several states saw their first action at the Western Region tournament in the 1970s. The region tournament was expanded from four to fourteen teams in 1972, when dormitories were completed at the new Western Region Headquarters in San Bernardino. Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Utah, and Wyoming all made their first appearances at a region tournament in 1972.

Select a year to see details from that year's region tournament.

Western Region Champions of the 1970s

1979 - Campbell LL (Campbell, CA)
1978 - San Ramon Valley LL (Danville, CA)
1977 - Western LL (El Cajon, CA)
1976 - Campbell LL (Campbell, CA)
1975 - Northridge American LL (Northridge, CA)
1974 - Red Bluff LL (Red Bluff, CA)
1973 - Cactus LL (Tucson, AZ)
1972 - Pearl City LL (Pearl City, HI)
1971 - Wahiawa LL (Wahiawa, HI)
1970 - Campbell LL (Campbell, CA)

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2003, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/03/2003