Western Region Champions in the 1980s

The 1980s began with a foreshadowing of things to come -- Kirkland National Little League from Washington captured the Western Region tournament before losing the U.S. championship game to the Belmont Heights Little League of Tampa, Florida. Two years later, Kirkland again roared through the West, but this time, Cody Webster, Mike Adams, and company didn't stop until they had upset Chinese Taipei 6-0 in the Little League World Series championship game. The two Kirkland titlists were the first two Washington teams ever to qualify for the Little League World Series.

The 1980s also saw a U.S. champion that wasn't from the United States. Mexicali, Mexico -- a league in a Mexican border city that at the time competed in nearby California District 22 due to travel considerations -- won the California Division 2 tournament and then posted four consecutive shutouts to win the Western Region title, as well.

Five California leagues also earned trips to South Williamsport, as did representatives from Hawaii and Arizona. Tucson International (Arizona), Irvine Northwood (Southern California), and Pearl City (Hawaii) all claimed U.S. titles before losing to teams from the Far East in the Little League World Series championship game.

Select a year to see details from that year's region tournament.

Western Region Champions of the 1980s

1989 - Eastview LL (San Pedro, CA)
1988 - Pearl City LL (Pearl City, HI)
1987 - Northwood LL (Irvine, CA)
1986 - Tucson International LL (Tucson, AZ)
1985 - Mexicali LL (Mexicali, Mexico)
1984 - Los Gatos LL (Los Gatos, CA)
1983 - Pacific LL (Sacramento, CA)
1982 - Kirkland National LL (Kirkland, WA)
1981 - Escondido National LL (Escondido, CA)
1980 - Kirkland National LL (Kirkland, WA)

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2003, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/03/2003