2015 District of Columbia Little League® Tournament Results
Unpage Home | District of Columbia Main Page

District of Columbia Championship Tournament
Major Baseball Division

Toward the past

Toward the present

District of Columbia Tournament
Hosts - Banneker City (Washington D.C.) and Satchel Paige/Senators (Washington D.C.)
Championship Game Host - Satchel Paige/Senators (Washington D.C.)
Championship Game at Fort Lincoln Baseball Complex

In Little League divisions other than the major baseball level, all Washington D.C. leagues compete in Maryland District 3, and advance through the Maryland tournament structure. In the major baseball division, the winner of the District 3 tournament (which encompasses only District of Columbia leagues) advances directly to the Mid-Atlantic Region tournament.

Tournament Results:

(Participating Teams: Banneker City, Capitol City, Capitol Hill, Joint Base Anacostia-Boling/Southern District, Northwest Washington, and Satchel Paige/Senators)

Day 1 (Saturday, July 18):
Satchel Paige/Senators 7, Joint Base Anacostia-Boling/Southern District 6
Capitol Hill 16, Banneker City 10
Capitol City 16, Northwest Washington 11

Day 2 (Sunday, July 19):
Capitol Hill 6, Northwest Washington 4
Banneker City 11, Joint Base Anacostia-Boling/Southern District 4
Capitol City 16, Satchel Paige/Senators 3 (4 innings)

Day 3 (Tuesday, July 21):
Northwest Washington 17, Banneker City 0
Capitol Hill 20, Satchel Paige/Senators 1 (4 innings)
Capitol City 21, Joint Base Anacostia-Boling/Southern District 1 (4 innings)

Day 4 (Thursday, July 23):
Northwest Washington 11, Joint Base Anacostia-Boling/Southern District 1 (4 innings)
Capitol City 5, Capitol Hill 4
Banneker City 16, Satchel Paige/Senators 3 (4 innings)

Day 5 (Saturday, July 25):
Capitol City 16, Banneker City 2 (4 innings)
Northwest Washington 13, Satchel Paige/Senators 3 (4 innings)
Capitol Hill 10, Joint Base Anacostia-Boling/Southern District 0 (4 innings)




Capitol City 5 0 21
Capitol Hill 4 1 20
Northwest Washington 3 2 26
Banneker City 2 3 56
Senators/Satchel Paige 1 4 71
Joint Base Anacostia-Boling/Southern District 0 5 60

The top four teams advance to the semifinal round.

Ties are broken based on records in head-to-head competition among tied teams. If a clear winner cannot be determined from head-to-head results, the tie is broken by calculating the ratio of runs allowed to defensive innings played for all teams involved in the tie. The team with the lowest runs-per-defensive-inning ratio advances.

In the event of a tie involving three or more teams, once the initial tie is broken, the remaining tied teams are again compared on head-to-head record to determine if a clear winner can be identified. If no clear winner can be identified from head-to-head results among the remaining tied teams, the runs-per-defensive-inning ratio is again used. This process is repeated until all ties have been broken.

Semifinal Round (Sunday, July 26 - at Banneker Upper Field)

Capitol Hill 3, Northwest Washington 0
Capitol City 17, Banneker City 5 (4 innings)

District of Columbia Championship Game (Tuesday, July 28 - at Fort Lincoln)

Capitol City 7, Capitol Hill 2 (TITLE)


Charlie Ganote allowed just one run over 4-2/3 innings and collected four hits to lead his Capitol City Little League all-star team to a 7-2 win over Capitol Hill Little League in the District of Columbia championship game at the Fort Lincoln Baseball Complex in Northwest Washington.

Ganote struck out eight batters in the game, and scattered three hits. He pitched out of a bases-loaded, one-out jam in the bottom of the first inning, then did not allow another baserunner until a leadoff single in the fifth. By that point, Capitol City had built a 7-0 advantage.

Ganote drove in runs during each of the innings that produced runs for Capitol City. In the top of the first inning, Amrtya Eswaren-King reached on an error, then Ganote tripled to right field to open the scoring. In the third, he followed Eswaren-King's one-out single with a double to center that gave Capitol City a 2-0 advantage.

Capitol City pulled away in the fifth. Ronan Larkin opened the inning with a seven-pitch walk, then David Michel Jefferson doubled to center. After a pitching change, Eswaren-King singled to right to drive in a run, and Ganote followed with a single that scored Jefferson.

Two more runs scored later in the inning when Nico Engvall reached on an error, and Jeremy Jensen also scored following Brendan Quinn's single.

Chance Legere drove in Capitol Hill's runs with a two-run triple to right in the fifth, before Eswaren-King closed out the win and sealed Capitol City's 23rd District of Columbia championship.

Capitol City won all seven of its games at the District's championship tournament, while Capitol Hill's only two losses were to Capitol City. Two of Capitol Hill's wins were close decisions over defending District champion Northwest Washington Little League, with Capitol Hill edging Northwest Washington 6-4 in round robin competition, and then eliminating them from the tournament with a 3-0 semifinal round win.

The second of these wins lifted Capitol Hill into the DC championship game for the first time in the league's history, and ensured that the title game matchup would involve a team other than Capitol City and Northwest Washington, who have met for the District championship in every year since 2006.

Three pitchers combined for a two-hit shutout in Capitol Hill's semifinal round win over Northwest Washington. Solomon Redo permitted one hit over the first two innings before giving way at 35 pitches to Will Lukken, and Lukken followed with three hitless innings. Legere closed out the win with a scoreless sixth.

Capitol Hill scored all of its runs in the fourth inning. Luca Christiansen opened the inning with a single to left field, and Adam Uppuluri followed with a single. Kai Leckszas followed with a double that plated Christiansen, and both Uppuluri and Leckszas scored on a subsequent double that capped the scoring.

Capitol City reached the title game following a 17-5 victory over Banneker City Little League in the other semifinal. Capitol City jumped to a 7-0 lead after one inning, but Banneker closed the gap with five runs of its own in the top of the second. Capitol Hill staved off the challenge, though, scoring six runs of its own in the bottom of the second and then ending the game when a four-run burst in the bottom of the fourth pushed their lead to a double-digit margin.

Capitol City scored 16 or more runs in four of its five round robin victories, with the outlier being a 5-4 win over Capitol Hill on the tournament's fourth day. Jefferson collected four hits and two runs batted in for Capitol City, and his single to center field sparked a first inning rally. Wesley Hogan added two hits and a pair of runs scored.

Capitol Hill's runs came on a solo home run in the fourth and a three-run shot in the fifth.

Follow Capitol City at the Mid-Atlantic Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.


  Semifinal Round 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
Northwest Washington 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0
Capitol Hill 0 0 0 3 0 x 3 8 0
  Semifinal Round
Banneker City 0 5 0 0 5 - -
Capitol City 7 6 0 4 17 - -
  Championship Game
Capitol City 1 0 1 0 5 0 7 9 0
Capitol Hill 0 0 0 0 2 0 2 5 2

Toward the past

Toward the present

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2016, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/05/2016