Unpage Home | Georgia Main Page

Georgia State Champions in the 1950s
Major Baseball Division

Georgia leagues first took part in the international tournament in 1951, when seven leagues converged on Larry Bell Park in Marietta with the hope of advancing to the Region 5 tournament. Marietta won the inaugural state tournament, and as the number of charters grew throughout the state, six years passed before a league captured a second title.

Athens and Marietta each earned two Georgia crowns in the 1950s, and the championship hardware went home with teams from all corners of the state as Cordele, Macon, and Rome joined the Atlanta- and Athens-area leagues in the winner's circle by the close of the decade.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1950s

1959 - Buckhead American (Atlanta)
1958 - Marietta American
1957 - Athens
1956 - Cordele
1955 - Macon
1954 - Athens
1953 - Rome
1952 - Augusta National
1951 - Marietta

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2010, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 05/01/2010