Unpage Home | Georgia Main Page

Georgia State Champions in the 1980s
Major Baseball Division

East Marietta National set a new standard for success among Georgia leagues in the 1980s. The league earned Georgia's first-ever Little League World Series berth after winning state and region championships in 1983, and capped that memorable summer with a 3-1 victory over Liquito Hernandez Little League (Barahona, Dominican Republic) in the Little League World Series championship game.

East Marietta National won five consecutive District 2 titles between 1980 and 1985; the league won three state championships in that span and was the runner-up in the other two years. Columbus American and Murphey Candler National Little Leagues each won a pair of state championships in the latter half of the decade. Columbus Eastern Little League captured its third state championship in 1986, before eventually finishing as the runner-up in the Southern Region tournament.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1980s

1989 - Murphey Candler National (Dunwoody)
1988 - Columbus American
1987 - Murphey Candler National (Dunwoody)
1986 - Columbus Eastern
1985 - Columbus American
1984 - Athens National
1983 - East Marietta National
1982 - East Marietta National
1981 - Columbus National
1980 - East Marietta National

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2010, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 05/01/2010